The beginning

19 Oct

Hello! And welcome to my first blog entry ever (so exciting)!! I feel like it’s the start of a new journey for me, and I would like to share that journey with you. It’s like I’m on the cusp of something new, standing still, waiting for my next path. I’ve been a nanny to two amazing kids for 4 years now and I know that they aren’t going to to need me forever. I’m a trained actor trying to make an artistic life for myself in Chicago with the minimal free time that I have. And I’ve recently decided that this writing bug is more of a writing passion and while starting a personal memoir at age 22 was helpful for awhile, it’s time to share my thoughts with others. I’ve also been dating my boyfriend for almost two years now and it’s definitely going towards “the future.” And then there’s all of my amazing girlfriends (in this state and in other states) that I want to spend time with, yes I said girlfriends for a reason- I don’t make friends with straight men, odd but true. Straight men either want to sleep with me or they get annoyed by me, not much middle ground. Gay men on the other hand, find me funny, and women, well, I can just relate to them better. We all have periods and emotions and selfish whiny tendencies and we like to shop, and it just works. Oh, and did I mention I bought a studio condo back in July of 2009 when the government was giving 8,000 dollars to first-time home buyers (I love you Obama!)? Well, I did, and let’s just say, that takes lots of work and lots of money. And this past August, my boyfriend, who I shall refer to as “the Scottish,” found this great rental apartment, and. it’s been fun and challenging as we make it our temporary home. I don’t live with him full time, but I basically live with him  50% of the time and I live in my studio 50% of the time. (Well, let’s be honest, it’s more like 75/25, but hey, I love him.)

Ten things that are somewhat interesting about me:

  1. I’m a natural blonde. It’s rare and it’s real. Don’t ever call me a “dishwater blonde,” and we’ll get along just fine.
  2. I believe in God, I believe in Jesus, I pray, and I go to church. God is love. Try it sometime.
  3. I am obsessed with the TV channel TLC. I am an over-sharer myself and I love all of their controversial reality families. I especially love The Little Couple and Sister Wives. And I can’t get enough of their wedding shows. Yum.
  4. I’ve struggled with my skin (acne) since I was a 5th grader, and I’m just recently starting to love my face. But those years of wearing make-up all the time when I was young have stuck with me and I still don’t leave the house without it.
  5. I can’t stand narrow-mindedness and people who judge others, especially when it comes to the GLBT community. Who are we to deny others’ love? We are all imperfect human beings. My advice to conservatives…go “fix” your own problems because harassing gay people and fighting legislation that lets homosexuals marry is not worth your time. You’ve got bigger issues, trust me.
  6. My parents are still married. They fight like normal couples but they’re still happy and it’s one of the best gifts they’ve given me.
  7. I used to think there was a witch in my basement when I was little, and I would turn off the light and run up the stairs as fast as I could so she couldn’t catch me. 🙂
  8. I didn’t have a passport until I met my Scottish boyfriend. And I don’t travel very much, partly due to money, partly due to packing anxiety.
  9. I’d rather get a pedicure than a haircut, because I love pedicures and I hate haircuts!
  10. I was born in Grand Forks, North Dakota. It’s not the most exciting place, but North Dakota is one of the few places in the world where I feel the most content.

The reason I love live theatre is because it’s such a beautiful way for people to relate to one another. It’s a portrayal of humanity and no matter our background or our culture we all have things in common. Hopefully you can find reasons to relate to me, or to laugh with me, or even to disagree with me. And since I’m obsessed with quotes, I plan to close every blog entry with one.

” Be faithful to that which exists within yourself. ” Andre Gide

6 Responses to “The beginning”

  1. Jenny I. October 20, 2011 at 3:54 AM #

    Rock on!

    • Stephanie October 21, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

      Thanks Jenny!

  2. ND October 20, 2011 at 10:06 PM #

    Love your views and appreciate your honesty!!

    • Stephanie October 21, 2011 at 4:26 PM #

      Aww thanks sis!

  3. Emily October 21, 2011 at 7:08 PM #

    Looking forward to reading your life story! 😉

    • Stephanie October 22, 2011 at 2:44 AM #

      thanks Em!

Leave a Reply

