Princess Spice and her travel anxiety

24 Oct

Sometimes you just need to get away!  And sometimes you need to get away with your girlfriends.  This past Saturday I went to Michigan with a few of my girlfriends and we had a fabulous time. We were gone for a total of about 24 hours but hey, it was an awesome mini escape from our beloved Chi-town.  The weekend included three wineries, a picnic, the beach, boutique shopping, dinner, and a hot tub.  YES PLEASE.

And it was drama free which is awesome because with girls that’s not always the case.  My group of girlfriends and I are all very different.  We’re like the Spice Girls (ps I love the Spice Girls) because we each represent a different personality type and somehow we make it all work.  I would definitely be considered the “Princess Spice” of the group for a few reasons.  1) I cry at the end of almost every movie. 2) I like to pamper myself. 3) I whine…a lot. 4) And I’m slightly high-maintenance.  Yes, I’m sticking with slightly.

And as “Princess Spice” I am a BIG fan of girl time get-a-ways.  However, I am not quite as big a fan of traveling in general. In fact I usually make quite the annoying travel companion.
1. I get packing anxiety which leads to chronic over-packing.  I did well on this Michigan trip because it was only 24 hours, but anything over two nights and I just freak out. WHAT IF I NEED THAT ONE ITEM I LEFT AT HOME?
2. I always get the sudden urge to CLEAN before I leave the house on a vacation.  My mom always told me it’s better to come home to a clean house than a dirty one, and boy oh boy did I take that to heart!  Now, the dishes must be done, the trash taken out, the bed made, the floor swept, the remotes lined up, the couch pillows fluffed, and the list goes on.  I should mention that because of my cleaning OCD my house is never even that messy, and so it’s understandable why the Scottish has started to get annoyed with this last-minute cleaning craziness.  But that just means I now clean on the sly.
3. I tend to travel ugly.  Yes, ugly.  My lovely (bratty) sister was the first person to help me realize this years ago on one of our many family vacations camping out west, and now it’s become a thing in the family.  When I travel, for some reason my make-up disintegrates, my hair gets matted, my face goes pale, my clothes get rumpled and I get just end looking like a hot mess minus the hot part.  I WISH I were kidding.
4.  I have the bladder of a mouse.  I’m always needing the toilet and bathroom breaks are imperative to a happy me.  My sister thinks you can’t stop if the trip is anything less than 4 hours.  Impossible!
5.  I’m a light sleeper and I wake up FREQUENTLY throughout the night which means I’m a pain in the ass to sleep with.  I move, I shift, I roll, and I get up to pee.  Trust me, it’s like sleeping with a three-year old.
6. I’m a morning person..thank you mother for that one.  And morning people get a bad rap on group vacations.  We are the ones who get up to our alarm clock the first time it goes off, and we’re the ones who enjoy happy chatting even if everyone else answers us in grunts.  We also ask annoying questions that have no relevancy to the getting ready process, such as, “What was the name of the first winery we went to again?” and “What time should we eat dinner?”

Now I’m not all bad!!  I do have a few good travel traits that I can be proud of… like I’m easily excited and excited people make trips more fun.  Plus, I’m really good at initiating interesting (and sexy) conversation topics.  And I’m sure I have other good travel qualities but those will have to wait because my next trip is coming up very soon.  It’s called “Work” and it starts at 7:30 in the morning so I better get packin.

Quote: “Something that involves travel, that is all I ever wanted to do. I want to be a professional ‘vacationist.'”  Alison Armitrage

2 Responses to “Princess Spice and her travel anxiety”

  1. Erin W. October 25, 2011 at 6:09 PM #

    I just traveled ugly yesterday! So I totally know how you feel. Also, I can always count on you to initiate sexy conversation topics.

    • Stephanie October 25, 2011 at 6:25 PM #

      haha right? yay for traveling ugly!! It happens more than people think…

Leave a Reply

