The “Wild Ride of Humanity”

26 Oct

I am LAME. I will be the first to admit that. It’s actually slightly embarrassing but not so embarrassing that I have to lie about it, because frankly, it’s part of what makes me unique. And I will be the first to admit my lameness. I have no desire to do any of the following things: bungee jump, skydive, parasail, climb a mountain, jump off a cliff, go backpacking, ride a motorcycle, ski, or snowboard. I don’t even want to go for a regular bike ride, snorkel, or get a tattoo. See what I mean? Who doesn’t love a good bike ride? I haven’t been on one since I was 13 and it’s all for the best.

Now don’t get me wrong, I have done some cool stuff in my life. For instance, I’ve whitewater rafted in level 5 rapids (twice) and that was pretty thrilling. After high school, I went to an out-of-state college where I knew no one and had to make all new friends; now that is terrifying! I’ve ridden a horse, I’ve attempted to drive a stick shift car, and every summer I go camping with my family. I may sleep in the pop-up tent camper (which is well off the ground), but I still have to walk to the bathroom…with a flashlight…in the dark. So it’s not as if I’m a total wuss, I just didn’t get that “adventurous spirit” everyone talks about. Instead, I got the “people spirit.” And yes, I just made that up, but it’s completely true. I’m an observer of humanity. I hate small talk but I love hearing everyone’s life story. I’m as curious as I am nosy. I want to understand why some relationships work and some don’t. I want to understand what makes your family unique and why your culture is important to you. I want to discover new passions and new inspirations. I was always the one grand kid in the family who would stay in the kitchen and chat with Grandma while everyone else was outside sledding and building snowmen. Maybe I missed out on all the fun, but I also heard the best stories of Grandma’s life growing up with an alcoholic mother, how she went to live with her grandparents in North Dakota at age 6, and how she first met my Grandfather.

I really believe there is something special about everyone. I guess I’m like Oprah except without my own network and connections to Rosie O’Donnell. And hands down, my favorite thing to learn about someone is definitely their religion. I get really excited when someone says something about their church or place of worship and then I start asking a ton of questions and probably overstep my boundaries in the process. No, I’m not going to expound on my personal thoughts surrounding this controversial topic, but I will say that I love how a person’s relationship or lack of relationship with religion explains so much about who they are, their past, how they were raised, and who they want to be in the future. I have close friends who are Jehovah’s Witnesses, I have met many people who identify as Mormons, I’ve visited a mosque, I’ve dated a few Catholics, a ton of my actor buddies are Jewish, I was raised Congregationalist, attended a UCC church in college, and currently attend a Methodist church. And there is only one thing that can be threaded throughout each of these religions, and that is love.

I also know a lot of lovely people who don’t practice any religion and that’s OK too because those people share the same feelings on love that I do. My Scottish is what you would call an Agnostic. I call him someone who needs proof of everything!! 🙂 But his morals match my morals and that’s all that matters. So I might never want to go parasailing (Seriously, because on this one show called, “Fatal Honeymoons,” this couple died while parasailing and now I’m wicked scared of it), and I may never swim with sharks or participate in a triathlon, but I will most certainly NOT have a boring life. There are too many amazing and wonderful people left to discover… and annoy with my questions. I call it the “Wild Ride of Humanity.” And this way I never have to get my nose pierced. Ever.

Quote: “I am always most religious upon a sunshiny day.” Lord Byron

Leave a Reply

