It’s neither here nor there

16 Nov

I have writers block. First off, I’d like to congratulate myself for making it through 9 timely posts before staring blankly at my laptop with no direction in mind. Secondly, I’ve decided to embrace this writers block because I find ignoring something only makes it worse. So, I’m going to continue to have writer’s block while eating skittles and watching HGTV (TLC has nothing good to watch on Wednesdays). I think I’ll have a go at stream of consciousness writing. The Irish novelist, James Joyce, well-known for his stream of consciousness writing, is my inspiration for tonight.

Last night I had the best night ever with my nanny baby Becca. She turned 5 this past Sunday and I told the kids that instead of buying them gifts on their birthdays, they were going to get “experiences” with me instead. Becca and I started at Starbucks (one of our favorite places) and after she told me, “It’s a special day so you can get a latte!” (Becca is helping me watch what I eat too), she asked me if this was the day for her “experiment” with me. Love it. After a latte and a vanilla scone we headed to a place where you can paint pottery. We painted over an hour and had a blast. Spending time with her is like breathing, it’s easy and we have fun no matter what we do or where we go. In general, I think that true love means being able to go anywhere with them. I can picture myself traveling all over the world with the Scottish and at the same time, there’s no one else I’d rather grocery shop with… and not just because he pays for it. haha. I’m so happy today! One of my close friends asked me to be her Maid of Honor. I’m already having a great time helping her with the wedding, and now I get to be even more involved. My goal is to focus on her wedding and stop researching how to get on the TLC show, “Say Yes to the Dress.” Sigh, it’s hard to be me. And it’s hard to be around me. I wish the skittles weren’t gone and I wish I kept more food in my condo. This place is barren!

Do you know what’s really cool? A floating toilet. As soon I finish planning a wedding, I’m going to start house hunting. I’m obsessed with home improvement and property shows. Ever since I bought my place I’ve been super interested in realty. I plan on keeping my condo for years to come, or at least until the market goes up and it’s a better time to sell, but my long-term goal is to pay off some of my student loan debt with the money I make on the sale. And someday the Scottish and I want to own property together. But that’s a long way off! The bank won’t even give him a credit card let alone a mortgage! We’re working on that. I have decided I need to spend more time in my condo because it’s getting a weird stale smell when I’m gone for too long and that’s not cool. I like when it smells like me.

I need a pedicure so badly because I’m pretty sure I could sand a piece of wood with the bottom of my foot. My friends and I have decided that Bradley Cooper is NOT the sexiest man alive. I’m cutting off my home phone line at the condo to save money and it’s making me slightly sad. I can’t wait to go shopping on Black Friday. I hope my turkey and especially my gravy turn out as good as Grandma’s on Thanksgiving. I ate too many skittles and I’ve spoiled my dinner. Good thing there’s no dinner to eat!

Quote: “Welcome, O life! I go to encounter for the millionth time the reality of experience and to forge in the smithy of my soul the uncreated conscience of my race.” James Joyce

5 Responses to “It’s neither here nor there”

  1. Bladedancer November 16, 2011 at 7:35 PM #

    That is a good Joyce quote at the end there two-six; I have been meaning to read some of his work myself. Here are two suggestions for your life:
    1) Ditch the home improvement yawnfests on TLC and HGTV and instead get netfilx on Iain’s Xbox and start watching Stargate: Atlantis religiously
    2) Bradley Cooper is ABSOLUTELY the sexiest man alive

    • Stephanie November 16, 2011 at 9:32 PM #

      I read Joyce back in high school I think, so I need a refresher as well. I enjoy my yawnfests!! 🙂

  2. Matt November 16, 2011 at 8:51 PM #

    My coworker Valerie gives her nephew James experiences too. I was like, Val, you gotta take him to a dude ranch! I saw that shit on modern family and it looks like the bomb.

    • Stephanie November 16, 2011 at 9:31 PM #

      haha nice. a good experience beats any toy.

  3. Holly November 16, 2011 at 11:18 PM #

    Hahaha, love it

Leave a Reply

