You know, big picture stuff…

20 Nov

What does God look like?

Is he male like people have thought for years because of the fatherly attributes associated with him? Is God a spirit with no gender? Is God a black woman because we want her to represent those in minority or those who are under-appreciated? Some of us believe that Jesus walked on earth as a human, but does God look human or is he just a presence?

I find this equally as fascinating as the question, “Does religion even exist?” I surround myself with believers and non-believers alike. I know people on both ends of the spectrum and I know that I fall somewhere in between. I do believe that there is something that exists that is greater than all of us and I believe it to be omnipotent and omnipresent. But what is it? Scientists say the world started with the big bang and religious faithfuls say the earth was created in seven days. Can there be a happy middle ground? Wouldn’t that be great if there was a place called “middle ground?” I bet it’s quite gray there, and I bet it’s a simple place where nothing really bad happens and nothing really good happens. But then I could believe in both sides of every story. I wouldn’t have to make decisions, and I could trust in…
democracy AND communism
fate AND freewill
evolution AND creation
Christianity AND Judaism
taxes AND tax breaks
pro-life AND pro-choice
Ashton Kutcher AND Demi Moore.

I don’t always know which side I believe in on what day, and I think there are so few things in life that are black and white. But for now, it’s enough for me to believe in God, but still have questions.

So, what does God look like? Well, God looks like everything. And I mean that, literally. God is the wind (the damn Chicago wind), he’s the sidewalk, the laughing child, the uptight old man, she’s the spilled smoothie, the googly-eyed couple walking down the street, it’s the couch you sit on, your dog you love, he’s the tall buildings and the beautiful plants, she’s the homeless veteran, the angry and alone single-mom, she’s your best friend, and your favorite pair of shoes. God is in books, on billboards, on TV, in stores, in your family and everywhere you look. For me, God is in all aspects of life and energy. Wherever you see love, God is there, wherever you see hate, God is there. Life isn’t always good, right? We all have bad days, really really bad days. Days that make you question everything in your life, but God is present during all of it. I don’t know if God is female or male or what God looks like, but I just know that I see God. I see God all the time.

Quote: “God is in the sadness and the laughter, in the bitter and the sweet. There is a divine purpose behind everything- and therefore a divine presence in everything.” Neale Donald Walsch

2 Responses to “You know, big picture stuff…”

  1. informationforager November 20, 2011 at 1:44 PM #

    Yea….this was a great post. I copied the quote so I’ll leave another of some of what I think. I don’t altogether believe in miracles or magic but I do believe in God.

    “There are no unnatural or supernatural phenomena, only very large gaps in our knowledge of what is natural.”
    Edgar Mitchell
    Apollo 14 Astronaut

    Thanks. Keep Blogging, Keep Writing.

    • Stephanie November 20, 2011 at 3:42 PM #

      Thank you very much! I look forward to reading some of your posts. Thanks for the quote too, I’ll add it to my collection.

Leave a Reply

