Eminem and the Spice Girls

14 Mar

Well, well, well, I am embarrassed to say that I didn’t do much on my day off. I shouldn’t feel this way because most people in my life ENCOURAGE me to relax now and again, to work less, to chill more. Alas, I hold myself to high standards and had great intentions to go to my Pilates class, sweep the floor, and do the laundry, but nothing really needed to be done. Nothing was urgent and I was just in a mood to sit on the couch (yes I know it’s beautiful but I am lucky enough to be able to walk around outside for my job almost everyday so it was OK to be inside). So sit on the couch I did.

But because I am who I am (and that is my mother’s daughter), I was productive. I still needed to make the bouquet for my friend’s rehearsal dinner, you know how you take the bows from bridal shower gifts and arrange them into something she can hold while doing her dress rehearsal of walking down the aisle? Well I made that today and I’m quite proud of it but because my lovely friend reads this blog, I don’t want to post any pictures of it so she can be surprised. ๐Ÿ™‚

The other productive thing I did was start my wedding dance songs playlist. WHOO-HOOO! Why so early you ask? When there are engagement photo props to be made, Scottish wedding traditions to research, contract agreements to go over, and other things piling up? Well, again nothing was that urgent, and starting something that can be revised along the way seemed like way less commitment.

Those of you who know me well, know that I am a loser when it comes to music. I’ve been to a total of two concerts in my life, I can never tell you who sings what, most of the music I listen to can also be found on the radio, and my IPOD is over 5 years old. I know, what a winner.

Don’t get me wrong, I love music. I’m one of those people who desires to have background music scoring their life, but I just don’t obsess about or collect or enjoy music in the same way other people do. That said, I am going to be very deliberate that every song on our list is totally and completely AWESOME. The songs will be awesome but also the most random collection of music possible. Basically I just love the most popular songs from the famous of artists. See how all that radio listening pays off! Our wedding will have fun and crazy bump and grind top 40 music, followed by The Beatles, followed by Mariah Carey, followed by Mumford and Sons, followed by Destiny’s Child, etc, etc. By now you’ve figured out that I also love both Eminem AND the Spice Girls. I mean, what’s not to love? I just want to have the time of our lives, and dance all night. Lucky for me, most of my girlfriends are sizzlin’ hot on the dance floor, all of my family knows how to kick up their heels, and most of the Scottish’s friends will be drunk enough to dance as well so I’m thinking it’s going to be one heck of a night! They say that your guests have a good time when they see YOU having a good time! So the Scottish and I will pick the songs that make US want to dance and I have no doubt it will be amazing and beautiful. And hopefully a little dirty.

And just to keep everyone on their toes (hahaha), they’ll be some authentic Scottish dancing known as a Ceilidh, and I literally can’t wait for that unique part of our evening!

Oh and I started crying when I thought of dancing with my dad. I love wedding planning!!!!!!

Quote: “Life is one grand, sweet song, so start the music.” Ronald Reagan

4 Responses to “Eminem and the Spice Girls”

  1. Dad March 14, 2012 at 11:28 PM #

    What an honor for me, I have to get my foot in shape by then!

    • Stephanie March 15, 2012 at 9:32 PM #

      I have no doubt you will be ready by next year dad, can’t wait!

  2. lifeandallthingslove March 15, 2012 at 8:23 PM #

    Oh, the joys of wedding planning. I still tear up 8 years later over my wedding day! I hope your big day is just as blessed and memorable as mine! Good luck with song choices!

    • Stephanie March 15, 2012 at 9:32 PM #

      Awww thank you!!! That is so kind of you! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope so too.

Leave a Reply

